SA surfski star Hayley Nixon crowned Athlete of the Year at gsport awards

World Surfski champion Hayley Nixon, won the coveted Athlete of the Year at the 2020 Momentum gsport Awards, joining an esteemed list of winners, including double Olympic champion Caster Semenya and Banyana Banyana star Thembi Kgatlana.

South Africa’s No 1 wheelchair tennis star, Kgothatso Montjane, won a tightly contested Athlete with Disability category, making her a five-time gsport Award winner and one of the most celebrated stars on the gsport stage.

In celebration of the 15th edition of the country’s longest running women’s sport awards, the gsport Awards introduced the Global Woman in Sport award, won by Netball World Cup player of the tournament Karla Pretorius, in a tight contest, and the African Woman in Sport award, which went to African Football correspondent, Usher Komugisha.

Gymnastics in South Africa continues to rise with Caitlin Rooskrantz claiming the Emerging Athlete of the Year category, Elizabeth Smith the Special Recognition Award and SA Gymnastics Federation winning the Federation of the Year accolade.

The SPAR Proteas were rewarded for their stellar year on the court with the Team of the Year crown, with SPAR’s outstanding support and investment in the sport earning them the title of Sponsor of the Year.

Banyana Banyana may have missed out on the Team of the Year award, but their head coach, Desiree Ellis didn’t, as the 2009 gsport Hall of Famer went on to win Coach of the Year.

Volunteers are the lifeblood of the game and the dedicated Siyabulela Loyilane from the National African Football Supporters Association was recognised for her efforts in football, winning Volunteer of the Year.

Rowing South Africa’s Virginia Mabaso joins an elite list of Woman of the Year Award winners after a pioneering season driving transformation in the sport.

Young rising stars, Kaitlyn Ramduth and Awande Malinga were also big winners on the night with Ramduth claiming top honours in the School Sports Star category and Malinga emphatically winning the public vote to secure the Public Choice award.

The Woman in Media categories featured some of the leading industry professionals making their mark in sports media. Marizanne Kok of Netwerk24 was named Woman in Print, SuperSport Rugby anchor, Motshidisi Mohono, nabbed her second gsport Woman in TV title with Itumeleng Banda of Massive Metro claiming the Woman in Radio award.

Netball star and socialite Jo Prins walked away with the Woman in Social Media award with Keabetswe Taele of M-Sports Marketing taking honours in the Woman in PR and Sponsorship category.

The Estee Lauder Style Star award went to Springbok women’s player and firefighter Zinhle Ndawonde.

After missing out on honours last year, Selina Munsamy was unrelenting with her passion to support women’s sport and was deservedly crowned Brand South Africa Supporter of the Year. 

Dudu Msane, a netball pioneer, who has dedicated over 40 years to championing the sport and unearthing new stars was inducted to the gsport Hall of Fame for her incredible efforts over the years which have paved the way for the current generation.

This prestigious recognition platform has been endorsed by the Department of Sport, Art and Culture since 2015 and this partnership makes an invaluable contribution towards generational equality each year.

The prestigious Minister’s Recognition of Excellence awards were presented to 2020 World Paralympics Surfing Championship silver medallist Noluthando Makalima; Proteas batter Laura Wolvaardt; 2020 African Games gold medallist canoeist Nosipho Mthembu; World Cup winning Springboks physiotherapist Rene Naylor and All Africa Games double gold medallist Tiffany Keep.

For the second year running, all winners will receive prize money ranging between R5 000-R20 000, in an unprecedented effort to give value and investment to the winners’ achievements.

Despite the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the Momentum gsport Awards team flipped the narrative to showcase women in sport in an innovative and spectacular way via a virtual awards presentation.

Africa’s only national women’s sport awards ignited the conversation and profile of all finalists and winners and paved new paths for global women in sport to boldly own their success.


African Woman in Sport – Usher Komugisha

Athlete of the Year – Hayley Nixon

Athlete with Disability – Kgothatso Montjane

Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis

Emerging Athlete – Caitlin Rooskrantz

Global Woman in Sport – Karla Pretorius

School Sports Star – Kaitlyn Ramduth

Woman in TV – Motshidisi Mohono

Woman in Radio – Itumeleng Banda

Woman in Social Media – Jo Prins

Woman in Print – Marizanne Kok

Woman in PR and Sponsorship – Keabetswe Taele

Woman of the Year – Virginia Mabaso

Style Star – Zinhle Ndawonde

Supporter of the Year – Selina Munsamy

Team of the Year – SPAR Proteas

Volunteer of the Year – Siyabulela Loyilane

Federation of the Year – SA Gymnastics

Special Recognition – Elizabeth Smith

Sponsor of the Year – SPAR

Public Choice – Awande Malinga

Minister’s Recognition of Excellence Awards – Noluthando Makalima, Laura Wolvaardt, Nosipho Mthembu, Rene Naylor, Tiffany Keep

– gsports

Source link

قالب وردپرس