Nelson Mandela Celebrated Musically With VP Records’ “Reggae Mandela” Compilation [Stream]

Reggae Mandela-compilation VP-Records 2019

VP Records celebrates the life and legacy of the South African leader, Nelson Mandela, 100 years after his birth and 25 years after his election in April 1994 as President of South Africa.

Released for Black History Month 2019, Reggae Mandela chronicles the awareness within the reggae community of Mandela‘s struggles, as well as the collective celebration of his victory over apartheid, his freedom, and his ascension to the presidency.

The collection begins in the late 70s with the ”Mighty Travellers’ underground anthem “South Africa” and carries the energy through 36 tracks across two CD’s (12 of which are featured on a limited edition vinyl LP). Highlights include Half Pint’s “Freedom Fighters,” recorded for Channel One, and a young Yami Bolo in exceptional form on “Free Mandela,” under the supervision of keyboard king Jackie Mittoo.

Artists featured include the Mighty Diamonds, Junior Murvin, Alpha Blondy, Aswad, Jimmy Cliff, Cocoa Tea, Sugar Minott, Barrington Levy, and dozens more.

Available on Vinyl, Double CD & all Digital platforms February 8, 2019, get it clicking on the iTunes banner on this page.

Nelson Mandela would have been 100 last year & there is an exhibition traveling globally to celebrate this centenary.

The album is released on the day that the exhibition opens in London. Visit

Stream & Preview the full “Reggae Mandela” Album 


Reggae Mandela Disc One


01. South Africa – Mighty Travellers
02. Free South Africa – Frankie Jones

03. Freedom Fighters – Half Pint
04. Wipe Out Apartheid – Johnny Osbourne
05. Nah Go To South Africa – Sugar Minott
06. Mash Down Apartheid – Mystic Revealers
07. Free Mandela – Yami Bolo
08. Black Heroes – Snowman
09. Apartheid – Junior Murvin
10. Winnie Mandela – Carlene Davis
11. Mr Botha – The Mighty Diamonds
12. Free Africa – Charlie Chaplin
13. A Letter To Nelson Mandela – Sugar Minott
14. Crying In Soweto – Harold Butler & The Four Corners
15. Apartheid Is Nazism – Alpha Blondy
16. Set Them Free – Aswad
17. Sing Our Own Song – UB40
18. Pressure On Botha – Jimmy Cliff & Josey Wales

Reggae Mandela Disc Two


01. Hanging Tree – Junior Delgado
02. Real Enemy – The Mighty Diamonds
03. Get Up Stand Up – Cultural Roots
04. President Botha – Cocoa Tea
05. Bawling For Mandela – Admiral Bailey
06. Gun Shot Fi Botha – Danny Dread
07. Africa Don’t Worry – Flourgon
08. Mandela Free – Shabba Ranks
09. Mandela You’re Free – Barrington Levy
10. Mandela Story – Tony Rebel
11. Shepherd Be Careful – Dennis Brown & Cocoa Tea
12. The Word – Hopeton Lindo
13. Can You – Brian & Tony Gold
14. Prophecy Fulfil – Bounty Killer
15. Rise Up President Mandela – Carlene Davis
16. Steve Biko – Beenie Man
17. Mr Mandela African Hero – Clive Hylton
18. Thank You Mr Mandela – Carlene Davis

Reggae Mandela LP Tracklisting

Side One

01. South Africa – Mighty Travellers
02. Free South Africa – Frankie Jones
03. Freedom Fighters – Half Pint
04. Wipe Out Apartheid – Johnny Osbourne
05. Nah Go To South Africa – Sugar Minott
06. Mash Down Apartheid – Mystic Revealers

Side Two

01. Hanging Tree – Junior Delgado
02. Free Mandela – Yami Bolo
03. The Real Enemy – The Mighty Diamonds
04. Mandela You’re Free – Barrington Levy
05. Mr. Mandela African Hero – Clive Hylton
06. Thank You Mr. Mandela – Carlene Davis

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... real deal

Source link

قالب وردپرس