Pakistan recall Mohammad Amir for T20Is in South Africa

Pakistan have recalled left-arm seamer Mohammad Amir for the T20I series against South Africa which follows the ongoing ODI series.

Amir hasn’t played a T20I since July 2018 when he was deployed against Australia and Zimbabwe in Harare but appears to be back in favour with selectors after his display in the Tests against the Proteas.

In their last two T20I series Pakistan whitewashed Australia and New Zealand in the UAE but did so without Amir. Sarfraz Ahmed’s team are ranked number one in the world in the format.

The Proteas T20I squad.

The man who was Test skipper when Amir committed his spot-fixing transgressions in England in 2010, Salman Butt has shown good form in domestic T20s but it seems Chief Selector Inzamam Ul Haq is not open to bringing back the disgraced former skipper or controversial seamer Mohammed Irfan.

Inzamam said the squad was selected with a view to preparing for the upcoming ODI World Cup in 2019 and the T20 World Cup in 2020.

“Once again, the selectors have gone ahead with the policy of maintaining consistency and retaining a winning combination,” he said.

“While our focus is very much on this year’s ICC Cricket World Cup, we cannot forget that the ICC T20 World Cup is in Australia in the second half of 2020. So, we need to give as much exposure and experience to our up-and-coming players as possible, but without compromising on the assignments in hand.”

Asif Ali and Hussain Talat will be able to draw on their experiences in the Mzansi Super League in South Africa late last year.

The three-match T20I series begins on 1 February at Newlands in Cape Town.

Pakistan T20I Squad

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Sahibzada Farhan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari.

Source link

قالب وردپرس